My work in Progress at Oppia

Hi there! It’s amazing to be able to write this blog post. It’s been an intensive number of weeks, and I can’t believe I’m already halfway done with my internship. How time flies! My previous blog post highlighted my first week as an Outreachy intern as well as my experience at Oppia. This blog post focuses on my progress and how much I’ve done in the past weeks.

It’s week nine of contributing to the Oppia Foundation, and the experience has been wonderful. My initial fear was about making mistakes; I wanted my submissions to be perfect before turning them in. As a result, I held back on so many things, thereby hindering my steady pace and consequently fuelling my imposter syndrome. Thankfully, my mentor noticed this and reached out; we discussed time management, structuring my contributions, and accepting that everyone is a work in progress. Hearing his own personal experience helped me overcome my fear, and I am grateful to Outreachy for making this possible.

A bit about Oppia

Oppia is a free supplementary platform created to provide underserved children with access to engaging, high-quality education. This online learning platform intends to provide access to high-quality education and to educate underserved, underprivileged, and marginalized children who do not have access to high-quality education. With Oppia, I have had the opportunity of personally working with over 10 children, meeting with them at least twice a week and assisting them with vocabulary, algebra, and writing using the Oppia application. I always look forward to these sessions, and I am overjoyed to see that they also look forward to our meetings.

My mid-project progress at Oppia

I’ve spent the past 9 weeks of my internship working with four different teams. My internship tasks included:

  • Working on qualitative and quantitative research strategies to facilitate data collection and analysis for the Foundational Research for Nigeria.

  • Collecting and analysing data from interviews, competitive analyses, and other qualitative research methods.

  • Coordinated the full translation and voiceover recording of the Addition and Subtraction topic to the Yoruba Language on the Oppia platform. You can view it here.

  • Interpreting results to propose solutions for improved user experience through written recommendations, presentations to team members, and persona development.

  • Networking with potential partners and concluding strategic partnerships for Oppia’s GTM strategies.

  • Creating graphics for Oppia’s monthly schedule posts and maintaining social media accounts.

  • Proposed strategic changes, such as including native Nigerian names (such as Ola and Ade) in the local versions of the Oppia platform for better inclusivity.

Finally...

Photo by Hannah Jacobson on Unsplash

Collaborating with various teams has been a great eye-opener for me; I have experienced firsthand how teams individually and collectively contribute to an organization’s growth.

Also, working closely with my mentors and fellow interns and maintaining open lines of communication has made my internship easier than I could have imagined. I now realize how normal it is to have imposter syndrome and struggle at various points. I now have the courage to speak up and suggest helpful tips. I have grown immensely, accomplished a lot, worry less, and I’m certain the coming weeks will be better than the previous ones.

Thank you for reading my story.

Connect with me on LinkedIn

Follow me on Medium

Follow me on Behance

Follow me on Github

Maya❤️